The VRLab

Virtual reality, interactivity and the projection of three-dimensional content are the cornerstones of VRlab project. Outfitted as a modern laboratory, it offers students at Reutlingen University in the degree program “Media and communication computer science” to experiment various possibilities:

There are two technically different projection systems are available that enable three-dimensional video and computer data in such terms that the viewer a spatial image impression.

The basic principle of both systems is that two projectors one image of the same scene from slightly different perspectives onto a screen (corresponding to the distance of the human eye). Special filters in front of the projectors and in the glasses of the observer shall ensure that at each eye only the right perspective image is transmitted.

These projection systems are used in courses and also serve as a demonstration model for interested companies and other educational institutions.

The aim of the project is to expand the range of functions continuously to optimize display quality and to expand the opportunities for interaction. In addition, contacts are made and deepened to research and industry.

Virtual tour of the laboratory

A virtual tour of the VR lab allowed Christian Butz with his bachelor’s thesis, which he created in the winter semester 2008/2009. In the animation, the projects of VRlabs are presented that were current at that time.

Clicking on the image opens the project in a new window.

Das VRLab

Virtuelle Realität, Interaktivität und die Projektion von dreidimensionalen Inhalten sind die Eckpunkte des Projekts VRlab. Eingerichtet als modernes Labor, bietet es den Studenten an der Hochschule Reutlingen im Studiengang „Medien- und Kommunikations-informatik“ vielfältige Möglichkeiten zu experimentieren:

Es stehen dafür zwei technisch unterschiedliche Projektionssysteme zur Verfügung, die es ermöglichen dreidimensionale Video- und Computerdaten so darzustellen, dass beim Betrachter ein räumlicher Bildeindruck entsteht.

Das Grundprinzip beider Systeme besteht darin, dass zwei Projektoren jeweils ein Bild derselben Szene aus leicht versetzten Perspektiven auf eine Leinwand projizieren (entsprechend dem Augenabstand des Menschen). Spezielle Filter vor den Projektoren und in der Brille des Betrachters sorgen dafür, dass an jedes Auge nur das perspektivisch richtige Bild durchgelassen wird.

Diese Projektionssysteme werden bei Lehrveranstaltungen eingesetzt und dienen darüber hinaus als Demonstrationsmodell für interessierte Firmen und andere Bildungseinrichtungen.

Ziel des Projekts ist es den Funktionsumfang stetig auszubauen, die Darstellungsqualität zu optimieren und die Interaktionsmöglichkeiten zu erweitern. Zudem sollen Kontakte zu Forschung und Wirtschaft hergestellt und vertieft werden.

Virtueller Rundgang durchs Labor

Einen virtuellen Rundgang durchs VR-Labor ermöglichte Christian Butz mit seiner Bachelor-Thesis, die er im Wintersemester 2008/2009 erstellte. In der Animation werden die Projekte des VRlabs präsentiert, die zu jener Zeit aktuell waren.

Ein Klick auf das Bild öffnet das Projekt in einem neuen Fenster.